Monday, February 19, 2018
The City of Vicksburg seeks to create a safe, vibrant, and productive environment in which to work and live by maintaining a form of government that meets its citizens' needs with the highest quality of service. Laws and regulations governing the City of Vicksburg are set by the State of Mississippi and by local government; the Mayor and Aldermen of the City of Vicksburg, a three member board elected by the people of Vicksburg every four years. The Mayor is elected at Large and the Aldermen are elected from districts. Members of the local governing board from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017 are:

Mayor - George Flaggs Jr.
North Ward Alderwoman - Michael A. Mayfield Sr.
South Ward Alderman - Willis Thompson

The group holds meetings every 1st and 3rd Monday and 10th and 25th day of the month in the City Hall Annex Building located at 1405 Walnut Street to debate and set City policy. Citizens are encouraged to attend and voice their opinions at these meetings. Board meetings are also televised on public access cable channel 23 and through streaming video at on the Internet. For more information, to receive a copy of the agenda or the minutes of a meeting, or to request a slot on the agenda, contact the City Clerk's Office located at 1401 Walnut Street between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, or call them at (601) 634-4553.