Police Department FAQ's

Who issues firearms permits in Mississippi?

State firearm permits are issued through the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and are processed locally at the district Mississippi Highway Patrol Sub-Stations. The two nearest MHP Sub-Stations for the Olive Branch area are located at Batesville and New Albany. The Batesville location processes firearm permits on Mondays (from 8 AM to 11:30 AM and from 1:30 PM to 3 PM) – phone number 662-563-6400. The New Albany location processes firearm permits on Wednesdays (from 9 AM to 12 noon) – phone number 662-534-8619. The State Firearms Permit website is:

With what other states does Mississippi have firearm permits reciprocity?

Mississippi has reciprocal firearm permit agreements with: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia & Wyoming.

end faq

{accordionfaq faqid=accordion566 faqclass="lightnessfaq defaulticon headerbackground headerborder contentbackground contentborder round5" }