Saturday, February 17, 2018



Chief Walter Armstrong has been in law enforcement for 33 years.  He began his career in 1984 as a State Trooper in Brookhaven (Troop M), Jackson (Troop C), and Headquarters with Mississippi Highway Patrol and currently serves as Chief of Police for the City of Vicksburg.  Chief Armstrong has been honored as the recipient of the Jim Ingram Lifetime Achievement Award.  Chief Armstrong served under Commissioner Jim Ingram as a State Trooper.  Commissioner Ingram contributed a great deal to the law enforcement on both the Federal and State level.  Jim Ingram was a 30-year veteran of the FBI and the Commissioner of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety for eight years.  Commissioner Jim Ingram was instrumental in the prosecution of Edgar Ray Killen and James Ford Seale for the deaths of three civil rights workers in Neshoba County.  The Jim Ingram Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals who have exemplified Commissioner Ingram’s character. This is only the 7th time that the Jim Ingram Lifetime Achievement Award has been presented.   Chief Armstrong was profoundly moved and honored for this recognition. Congratulations, Chief Armstrong!



The Vicksburg Police Department 2017 TOP COP is Officer Alexis Hall.  Officer Hall has been with the Vicksburg Police Department since September, 2015.   Officer Hall is following in the footsteps of law enforcement professionals in her family.  Officer Hall’s mother and uncle, Lt. Penny Jones and Captain Milton Moore, have served the Vicksburg Police Department since 1999.  Officer Hall has gone above and beyond her duties as a law enforcement officer on several occasions.  Officer Hall’s prompt reaction to provide medical attention proved to be lifesaving measures for the individuals involved.  Hall’s quick thinking was a commendable effort.  The Vicksburg Police Department is grateful to have such a dedicated officer serving this community. Congratulations, Officer Alexis Hall!